5-10-15-20: The Art of Story Telling

By now, you all know how this works. Every week I come up with a topic concerning some aspect of hip hop and try to deliver the best from the past 5, 10, 15, and 20 years ago. So today the topic is story telling. I’m pretty sure if I asked anybody, they could tell me their favorite story telling songs. But the key is to do it by the years. So obviously, this will change next year. But let’s begin.

2010

Released on March 30th of 2010, E-40 released Revenue Retrievin’: Day Shift. This album produced the best story telling song I could find for the year 2010.  Ironically, its called “The Art of Story Tellin”

2005

May 23, 2005, Common unleashed the album “Be”. Which contained a little song called “Testify”. Starring a young “Cookie Lyons” and Wood Harris, Common wove a tail of dope dealing, murder and double crossings.

2000

Obviously I picked a dope time to start my blog. Because 15 years ago Eminem dropped The Marshall Mathers LP. Do I even have to say, that this is the album that birthed “Stan”? One of the most prolific story telling joints ever. No more words needed.

1995

For this year I found a story, not in your traditional sense, but a story of how dirty you would do somebody if you ever caught up to them. Maybe they stole your style or took your shine. In 1995, Three-6 Mafia released Mystic Stylez, which had the song “Live By Yo Rep (Bone Diss).

So there, another episode of 5-10-15-20 in the books. If I missed anything, let me know.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

