Grown Man Hip Hop

old-rapper

Greetings World. For anybody who knows me, I’m pretty hardcore with my musical selections. Give me street, give me reality, give me that hard shit. I like artistic music as well but I really don’t mind if you curse a bit. But that’s not to say I don’t listen to my fair share of ignorance. Hell, I got a homeboy who will tell you, “I like that dumb shit, bro”. Pimp Trick Gangsta Click Shit. Word to Outkast.

But as you get older musical selections change. Or they should. Three Six Mafia and the whole spooky shit is too much for a grown man. Coming out in 2015 acting like your 15 is fucking stupid…if you’re not 15. After a certain age, the mystique wears off. Do you know how old 2 Chainz is? Tauheed Epps just turned 38 and he went to college. Can you tell that when you hear this…..

I know some of you are like “that shit bangin” . This article isn’t for you sir. But I can’t really accept someone older than me, with a bit of education rapping with a dumbed down mentality. And that’s no disrespect because you have to make money. But damn, where is the grown man hip hop? A lot of us who grew up on this music are in our late 20’s to early 40’s. I mean coming up in the 80’s and 90’s. A lot of my elders, like my parents and uncles played Whodini, EPMD, Slick Rick even a little Too Short and NWA. But they grew out of it when the music didn’t grow with them. I’m almost there now. Unless a rapper is super duper lyrical like a Eminem or a Jay-Z, even a Lil Wayne….they must have subject matter. Correction. DIFFERENT subject matter. Something other than trappin’, ballin’, cars and fuckin’. I swear a lot of the music I hear today sounds like a No Limit album cover.

Not to say that there aren’t any exceptions to the rule. But for every Kendrick Lamar and Lupe Fiasco tune there are 5 Young Thug songs. I can totally understand when somebody says they are on some different shit now. Where they become more selective with what they subject their ears too. A lot of us have kids now and the last thing you want is them to hear “smoke a lil bit, drank a lil bit, pop a lil bit, hey get fucked up”, before you drop them off at school. So again I ask, where is the grown man hip hop?

Is it me? Is it my fault that I expected more? Are other genres of music forced to play to a younger audience? Is it our fault that when you hear a new Public Enemy song (yes, they still make music), that we really aren’t trying to hear that shit? I don’t know. But what I do know is there is a sector of emcees who make it there duty to speak on other aspects of life. AND they make it entertaining. I explained to my 9 year old daughter how “Want You” by Kendrick Lamar is about the devil. That’s like her favorite song….well outside of “Hit the Quan” but she’s 9. What am I gonna do?

If I had to suggest a few songs or records that could explain what I mean by grown man hip hop, I will compile a list of what I feel are not for your average radio listener.

Nas and Damian Marley- Distant Relatives

The album title derives from Nas and Marley’s relationship, their shared African ancestry, and the shared ancestry of the entire human race.Which musically and lyrically inspired each recording.

 

Kendrick Lamar feat. BJ the Chicago Kid- His Pain

A retrospective story of how you are here for a reason.

Scarface feat. Faith Evens- Someday

A song from a well respected gangster rapper about how great God is.

Outkast- Crumblin’ Erb

Classic Atlanta Hip Hop about what life was like for a lot of us in Atlanta.

Lupe Fiasco- Bitch Bad

About how the music and the media industries feel we should portray our women.

And the subsequent downfall that follows.

So. Long story short, the music is available for us grown men and women.

The question is.

Are you seeking it?

Peace

Leave a Reply

